Dental Floss (Policy) Status: See Detail The fibers and wax used in dental floss are made of innocuous ingredients and do not require kosher certification. However, many varieties are “flavored”, and flavors are kosher-sensitive. Accordingly, for Pesach one should only use unflavored dental floss, and for year-round the unflavored variety is preferable.